(L-R): Janina Strötgen, Vera Spautz, Andreas Wagner, Xavier Bettel, Georges Mischo, Guy Arendt, Pim Knaff; Credit: MCULT

The European jury met in Luxembourg from 9 to 10 November 2017, the first day having been marked by the visit of certain members of the jury of the principal places and institutions selected in the application file. During the second day, the jury met in its entirety at the Ministry of Culture where it was hosted by the Prime Minister, Minister of Culture and the Secretary of State for Culture, Guy Arendt.

After the welcome address by Xavier Bettel, the candidate city presented to the jury the final application file entitled "Remix Culture".

Following the deliberations of the jury, the president, Sylvia Amman, announced that the jury has accepted the candidacy of the city of Esch-sur-Alzette and that it recommends to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to designate Esch-sur-Alzette as European Capital of Culture 2022.

Esch-sur-Alzette will share this honour with Kaunas, the second largest city in Lithuania.

The Jury President mentioned the government's commitment throughout the selection process, with the Prime Minister stressing the importance of the role of culture in the European Union and the State having pledged to contribute two-thirds of the Esch2022 project budget.

The Prime Minister and Minister of Culture, Xavier Bettel, welcomed the jury's decision highlighting the joy of hosting the European Year of Culture for the third time in its history, after Luxembourg city in 1995 and in 2007: "The Esch 2022 project convinced me and I am convinced that it will contribute to the radiation and the dynamisation of the mining basin. We will work together to make it a success."