Rock the South 2017 will take place on Saturday 16 December 2017 from 19:30 at the Home St Hubert in Pétange.

Organised by la commission de la jeunesse, la commune de Pétange, le Rocklab, le SNJ, la Radio Ara, 7FM Luxembourg et la radio locale "Péiteng On Air",  total of five newcomer bands will perform during the event.

This year, The Choppy Bumpy Peaches (Screaming Fields Booker’s Choice 2017) will perform. For the others, applications are now open.

The aims to promote local and southern music groups in Luxembourg by giving them the opportunity to perform on stage. Rock the South has become over the years an ideal platform to launch a youth career and give them the opportunity to show the scale of their talent. With previous winners like Tuys, District 7 and The Kooters, the festival is a springboard for the local music scene.

The principle is simple: Rock the South is a competition for amateur rock bands and mainly newcomers to the Luxembourg scene. Participation is subject to various conditions related to the residence and age of the participants. The majority of the musicians of the participating group must reside in Luxembourg, the minimum age of the musicians is fifteen years and the average age of the group can not exceed 25 years. Racist, homophobic or sexist songs will be excluded from the concert and the duration of the stage performance is limited to 30 minutes. These 30 minutes will be enough to convince the public and show the personality of the artists to a jury present.

A jury of listeners, composed of professionals and music lovers, will evaluate the performances and will designate the winner who will win a package worth €1,000 composed of a preparation by the Rocklab Rockhal and recording sessions at Rockhal studio. This group will also be able to perform during the Rock the South 2018 edition. All the ingredients will be available to launch a career! Another prize will be awarded by the SNJ and will give this group the opportunity to perform at the festival "On Stéitsch 2018".

Registration deadline is 30 November 2017; only five groups / artists will be selected. To apply, see

Last year, The Trappers won Rock the South 2016, and will also perform at this year's event.

Free entry.